Prof. Dr. Stephan Wassong, President of the International Pierre de Coubertin Committee (IPCC), has been awarded the Dimitrios Vikelas Plaque Award 2022 by the International Society of Olympic Historians (ISOH). The award ceremony took place during the ISOH General Assembly in Colorado Springs on 6-7 October 2023. On this occasion, Stephan Wassong gave a lecture entitled: Pierre de Coubertin’s Network in the USA and its Importance for the Foundation of the Olympic Games and the Olympic Idea.

The Vikelas Plaque was introduced in 2007. It is awarded to those who have made a concrete and visible contribution to an Olympic theme. This could be in the form of a lecture, a paper book or the promotion of knowledge of Olympic history through an exhibition. In some cases, it may be a combination of the above. The award is named after the first President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Dimitrios Vikelas, who was both a literary figure and a diplomat, but dedicated the last years of his life to the Olympic movement and was the key figure in bringing the 1896 Games to Athens.

IPCC President Stephan Wassong (on the right), receiving the Dimitrios Vikelas plaque from Christian Wacker, President of the ISOH

Leave A Reply: